Our Story

Cirrus is a quartet consisting of Eva Bjerga Haugen (vocals), Inge W. Breistein (saxophones), Theodor B. Onarheim (bass) and Stein Inge Brækhus (drums).

The quartet had its debut concert MaiJazz in 2011 and did concerts in Norway and abroad in subsequent years. In 2013 they were back at MaiJazz with the release concert of debut album "Méli Mélo", which received critical acclaim both nationally and internationally. Roald Helgheim in Dagsavisen and Ian Patterson in All About Jazz both declared the album one of the year's absolute highlights.

Cirrus has done several tours, including organized by the Western Norwegian Jazz Center, and was one of the bands that received work grants from the Norwegian Jazz Forum for 2014. The quartet was selected in 2014 to participate in Nattjazz' showcase program, Jazz Norway in a Nutshell, and the quartet's concerts have on several occasions been broadcast on national state radio (NRK P2).

The music of Cirrus best described as European chamber jazz with elements and
inspiration from North Indian classical music, French chansons and experimental
popular music. The music is composed of self-composed, fiery rhythmic and strong melodic tunes with plenty of room for improvisational spark.